Lots of Love and Slobbery Kisses

lola vday

Happy Valentine’s Day! While I am in the group of people that thinks you should show the special people in your life love all year long, I am kind of a sucker for any holiday that encourages things painted with pink and and covered in glitter.  God I love glitter….. Steve and I usually keep our celebrations low key with small gifts and cards and then some type of meal thrown in, because obviously we enjoy any excuse to eat.  This year in addition to a pretty funny card, I got Steve a GW hat, conversation hearts in Spanish to spice things up, and a new GW t-shirt since he ruined one of his favorites while he cleaned the bathrooms a couple of weeks ago – such a good husband!

Unfortunately, our original dinner plans fell through when we realized that the restaurant was only serving (an extremely over priced) Valentine’s Day menu, and due to my food allergy with crustaceans, I couldn’t eat half of it. Instead we are going to an old stand by, which is just fine by me.  We also have reservations on Sunday to try brunch at the Copperwood Tavern in Sherlington.  The “Bitches who Brunch” gave it a pretty good review and it’s been on our list of places to try so I am excited to see how it stacks up.

I am very lucky to have a special someone to celebrate with, but I have to say some of my favorite Valentine’s Days have been spent with my friends.  My junior year of college I was studying abroad in Italy, and my friend Mara and I celebrated by going to the “Pain and Torture Museum” –  get your mind out the gutter! It’s a museum about mid evil life in Florence which happened to include a lot of vigilante justice, hangings, and the plague – and we followed that up with happy hour at a Mexican restaurant.  No matter what your plans are, I hope you have a great day!

One thought on “Lots of Love and Slobbery Kisses

Leave a comment